Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope that this post finds you, and your family, well for the holiday.  I hope that your turkey is golden and juicy and that the potatoes are whipped to perfection.

I also hope that someone else does your dishes for you!

This is the first Thanksgiving in over 16 years that I haven’t cooked a Thanksgiving dinner and this is the first Thanksgiving that I haven’t spent with my kids.

I could get totally weepy about it and whine about how it isn’t fair.  The woman that started this blog would be doing that.

But this is four months later and I’m not that woman anymore.

This new woman is reveling in the quiet of the house and having control of the television.  I’m watching “First Wives Club” (fitting, don’t you think) and I’m going out to dinner with a friend in about an hour.  No cooking, no dishes, no mess.

I miss my kids, certainly. I truly do.  But sometimes, some time away is a good thing.

I finished an afghan for a friend. I’ll be doing some inventorying through the house the next couple of days. Gotta make sure I have a list of everything that I need to start my new life.

Tonight, I’ll drink the last bottle of Italian wine that my husband brought home on his last deployment.  The one that he said was his.

I’ll enjoy every drop.

I’m thankful for the roof over my head, my beautiful chidlren, my parents who support me always and my friends that have been the bedrock of my strength for the past few months. I am thankful for the ability to write here and share this journey with all of you.  It’s better than therapy!  I’m thankful for the lawyers that are fighting my fight (for a price, of course) and will get me the best deal possible.  I’m thankful for the sun that shines today and my dog that is my constant companion who will think that the walk I give her tonight is the best thing ever.

I know that this is a bad time in my life, but I also know that I will get through it and I will be stronger for it.  That is the thing that I think I’m most thankful for.  This whole episode, this whole episode, has shown me that I have the strength to get through anything and to let go of those things that are no good for me, which means that I am stronger than I thought.

So, to all of you readers out there who are on this journey with me, Happy Thanksgiving.  I hope you all have a wonderful day!

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. ~happy thanksgiving! i’m thankful for our friendship even for our ups and downs when we first met, and pray they will always stay up! HUGS!!!~

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

