If it wasn’t for bad luck…..

I had a friend post to her Facebook status today that she was having a run of bad luck.  She said, “It’s a new year.  Isn’t it supposed to get better?”

My reply? “Get all of the bad stuff done now and you’ll skate for the rest of the year.”

Apparently, this applies to myself as well.

Today was the first day back to school for the kiddos.  Not yesterday, like I mistakenly thought.  I woke up yesterday at 6 a.m., got the kids up, made their lunches and sent them out into the bitter cold where they stood for 20 minutes waiting for the bus that never came.

Happy New Year!!! 🙂

But today they actually went back.  It was still bitterly cold, but at least there were buses to take them to school.  Thank goodness, cause they were driving each other, and me, crazy!  One week off for Christmas and they had had enough of each other.  I can’t imagine if they had had two weeks off like my nieces and nephews.  There would have been Hari Kari committed, I’m sure of it.

So, today I went back to the pressing matter in my life, which was my divorce.  With the holidays I was able to put it aside, simply because no one was at work.  But everybody was present and accounted for today, so I was a busy little bee.

My first stop?  The JAG office.  My husband’s first sergeant had fed me some story about why the orders couldn’t be delayed and I wanted to double check that.  I didn’t get the specific reg number, but I did find out that it was up to the gaining commander’s discretion.  So, I’ll kindly make the request again tomorrow of my husband’s current commander and then, on advice from the JAG, I will take matters into my own hands.  This will include, but not be limited to, emailing his gaining commander and supervisor all pertinent information/evidence on why I need his report no later than date extended for a couple of weeks.  We’ll see how that flies.

Then I went to housing.  Good and bad news there.  Good news:  I’m entitled to stay in the house after he moves out because we are still married.  Bad news:  He has to cancel his sign out date, which we all know won’t happen without some pressure from the commander.  Of course, she seems to have washed her hands of the whole issue, so we’ll have to see if we can change that.

Then to the realtor.  Seriously bad news there.  There is only one house available in the school district in my price range.  One house.  I told her to look outside of the district, because I had been told that I could get my oldest a seat at his school for next year.  I have an appointment to see the one house tomorrow – one bathroom is a major draw back – so we’ll see how that works out.

Then onto the worse news:  There are no seats available for my son next year unless he lives in the school district.  Well, makes housing an easy choice, right?

As I was leaving the school, I got an email from my lawyer which looked like good news.  The hearing for temporary relief had been scheduled for 13 January.  Now, for the bad news:  The court screwed up and didn’t notify anyone of the hearing date and that may open the possibility of his lawyer stating that there needs to be a delay so that he has time to prepare.

Now I’m back to square one.

It’s so frustrating to realize that the children and I could be punished because someone at the courthouse failed to mail out notices.  And I cannot see how his lawyer could not be prepared when the court date is almost a month from the time he originally received the filing.  It’s ridiculous.  I’m waiting to hear back from my lawyer so that I know what’s going on.  I know that he is going to speak to the judge about not delaying the hearing, but I have no idea when that is going to be.

What a day.  Lots going on.  Tomorrow, though, I get to hang out with my oldest friend in the world and I am determined to enjoy it.  It’s the little things that make life worth living.

Like the fact that if I move into a house with only one bathroom, I’ll never have to clean it again.

That’s a kiddo chore! 🙂

2 thoughts on “If it wasn’t for bad luck…..

  1. Geez, that was a fucked up shitty kind of day. I’m sorry. Shitty days, while going through a divorce, are inevitable, however. It will all pass, eventually. Stay strong. Enjoy your time with your friend!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

