This week is over, right? Right????

I love roller coasters.  They give you that safe fear thrill that you get when you go down that first hill.  The one that I’m pressing into the floor with all my might and holding on with my eyes closed.  I love the rest of ride, especially those bumps.  You know, the ones that when you go over the top you catch zero-G.  Those are awesome.  I’ll pay good money to ride one of those coasters.

I just really don’t like it when my life becomes a roller coaster.  Like this week.  Not at all fun.

So if you read my post on Tuesday (here), then you know the beginning of the roller coaster.  The one house in the school district was rented out from under me on Wednesday morning.  Even after I wrote this really nice letter begging them to let me move in with my dog (something that they didn’t want because they had just refinished the floors).  So, living in the school district just didn’t work out.

But then there was good news:  the school would allow me to keep the children in the district, even if I moved out of it, for the rest of the year.  So that buys me a little time.

Then better news:  There was a house available in the school district!  It wasn’t listed with a realtor, which is why it didn’t show up on any realtor search, and he was willing to let me come by and look at it on Friday (today).  Awesome!  And the rent was amazingly low (only $1000 a month, compared to $1600 everywhere else) and it wasn’t in a perfect location, but I was willing to suck that up because it was in the district.

Then even better news:  my parents were going to loan me the money necessary to put a security deposit on a house because the court date was moved from the 13th to the 20th and that’s the day that the movers are here.

So, I go look at the house in the not so great location and fall in love with it.  It’s beautiful.  It’s not huge. In fact, it’s only a 2 bedroom/1 bath.  But the kitchen is beautiful with 1930’s era cabinetry, it has tongue and groove hardwood floors and it has amazing closets.  It has an attic that I’m going to turn into my room, a dining room and a living room with a working fireplace.  The closet space is amazing.  A couple of drawbacks – it has a basement, but I’m not allowed to use it.  The storage space is very, very limited, but with what I’m saving on rent I’ll be able to afford a small storage locker.  There is no dishwasher.  Now, this wouldn’t be a problem, but I promised myself years ago that I wouldn’t live in a house without a dishwasher.  Oh well, guess I can suck it up for a bit.  The washer and dryer hookup are in the basement, which is off limits to me, but the landlord said that he would run hookups to the kitchen.  Not ideal, but I’ve had my laundry room in the kitchen before.  I can make do.  There is no central air, but it uses radiator heat which is much more comfortable.  And, honestly, you only need air conditioning during three months out of 9 in New Jersey.  It has a fenced in back yard, but I can only use half until my landlord covers and secures the pool that takes up the other half of the yard. But, he’s gonna allow  my dog, so that’s awesome.

The biggest drawback?  He was wrong about the school district it was in.  So, I’m still out of district, but I’m paying $600 less for rent.  Which, in my mind, is actually a bonus.

All in all, I have a house, which was the most important thing.  It’s not a great house, but it has a lot of character.  When I can, I’ll post pictures.  I take possession of the house on the 20th, which is our court date.  I’ll have a U-Haul truck on the 18th so that I can start moving stuff out before his movers get here on the 19th. It’ll be a very busy few days.

But the best news of all?  My father is flying out to help me move!  That is so awesome  I can’t even begin to tell you.

I just have to make sure that I keep him from punching the asshole in the face.

So, starting tomorrow, I’m packing stuff to get ready to move.  I’ll pack up my  room and the boys this weekend.  Then onto the garage next week.  I have a few things I would like to sell before I move, but if I can’t, then we’ll move them to a storage locker.  There are a couple of places in town where I can rent something.

Oh, and to top off the good ending to the worst beginning of a week ever, I saw my lawyer today.  He and I are both super not impressed with the cross motion that the asshole and his lawyer filed to the financials.  He also stated that the two judges that are hearing cases like these in my county tend to put the man through the ringer, so that bodes well.  We do go to court on the 20th, so two more weeks and we’ll find out how things go.

After my mom and my landlord, you will be the first to know! 🙂

I hope that your week wasn’t so crappy but then ended well, like mine.  I’m super excited that my dad is going to be here for the court date and moving out stuff.  That’ll be super nice.  I haven’t seen him since last year at my grandmother’s funeral, so I’m looking forward to it.

Oh, and as a postscript to the whole “good Friday” thing I had going, I lost my dog on the walk tonight.  She hasn’t been for a walk for a few days because it was so dang cold.  So, I take her out and she ran off (I walk her on a shock collar, because she enjoys the freedom).  I spent 45 minutes looking for her and then walked back to the house to see if she had gone home.  She hadn’t.  So, I leave again to go find her and finally find her down the hill in this little gully on the golf course.  She is soaking wet and stinks and is covered in sand.  As soon as we get home, she eats, drinks and then got a bath!  Maybe she’ll remember the bath the next time she wants to run off!  Right now, she’s snoring on the floor next to my bed, right where she belongs.

I think I’m gonna join her in dream land. 🙂

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

