Life is great!

As I sit here this afternoon, having finished paying my bills and taken my youngest to go play with his friends in the old neighborhood, I understand something:

LIFE IS GREAT!

I’ve said it before, and I’m sure I’ll say it again:  I haven’t been this happy in years.

About 16 to be exact.

Life isn’t without it’s bumps and bruises.  No life is perfect (and anyone saying it is is selling something).

But who wants a perfect life?  If it’s perfect, then how do you enjoy the good times?  If you have no bad times, then there’s nothing to appreciate when it is good.

I have wonderful friends.  They support me and give me encouragement.  I’ve landed a job where my boss is absolutely amazing and my co-workers are pretty cool.  I have money in the bank, my bills are all paid, there’s food in the kitchen and we have clothes on our back.

I’m not rich, but I have enough, and that’s more than so many have.

I’ll admit I was terrified of going out into the world on my own.  I was worried about raising my kids solo and being able to make it work.

But it’s not as bad as I thought it would be and it’s a hell of a lot better than I had any right to expect.

This is, of course, not where I expected I would be right after my 39th birthday.  But, sometimes, the best experiences are the ones that come unexpectedly.  Something that challenges us to be more than we ever thought we could.

I think I have those two things covered.

Yes, I’m exhausted most nights, but that just means that I sleep really well.  The house is messy and there’s usually dishes in the sink, but at least we have a roof over our heads and food to eat.  Yes, I hate paying bills, but we have water and electricity and gas to make our living more comfortable.

I smile all the time, something I haven’t done in a long time.  I found my sense of humor and I use it liberally, something that I hadn’t done in a long time.

I’m in a very good place, a place that I’ve visited on occassion, but haven’t had any chance to stay there.

Life is great.

And I appreciate it every single day.

4 thoughts on “Life is great!

  1. You only live onces, at least you can say you have lived. Not many ex military spouse can say they have made it after their divorce. I am proud to call you my friend, my sister and you make anything happen as long as you put your mind too it.

    • Thanks, Sweetie! One foot in front of the other seems to be working well for me right now. I’m enjoying the journey and everything new that is presented with it. I am proud to call you friend as well, and Sister. You are freaking awesome! We miss you up here!! You gotta come for a visit!!

  2. Most of us don’t realize how strong we are until faced with challenges. You stood tall and approached each challenge as it presented itself and won! You will continue to triumph as life goes on, finding the strength within and with the support from your friends and family. Proud of you! Love you cuz!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

