Let me set the record straight

Yes, this is for someone very specifically.

For those of you that may have had any questions or wanted to make assumptions about my life:

Yes, I am alone.

No, I don’t need a man to make my life complete.

More, I don’t want a man to make my life complete.

No, this isn’t the ideal situation.

No, this isn’t where I thought I would be on the eve of my 40th birthday.

But, I am more than capable of taking care of myself and my children.

I am more than capable of doing what needs to be done.

I don’t want a relationship.

There is a difference between being single cause you’re forced to and being single cause you want to.

I want to be single.

I was married for 16 years and I wasn’t happy.  Why would I jump back into that?

And here’s another news flash:

Many men think that smart is sexy.

But the men that think that smart is sexy are the ones that are secure enough in their own skin to be with a smart woman.

And being smart has nothing to do with being single.

I am a smart, beautiful, single-by-choice woman who has met each hardship head on.

It hasn’t always been easy and it will be hard sometimes in the future.

But I’ll get through it.

So, for you haters out there – and you know who you are – keep on hating.

I know it’s because you are jealous of the strong woman I am.

I know it’s because you wish you could be more like me.

And I’m OK with that.

My life hasn’t been perfect in the past, isn’t perfect right now, and I’m sure it won’t be perfect in the future.

But I’ll have made it without leaning on a man and expecting him to take care of me.

And that’s pretty awesome.

10 thoughts on “Let me set the record straight

  1. i can’t believe that you could have any haters. how terribly sad. i think you are an amazingly strong, beautiful woman…and i am so happy i have been able to follow your journey.
    and you are so right my friend…hate is a mask for jealousy.
    keep on being amazing 🙂 because that is exactly what you are!

    • Thank you so much! Haters are everywhere – I just ignore them…usually. But this time, this particular woman intimated that because I was too smart, that was why I was, and would stay, single. She’s seriously just jealous. Oh well, her loss! 🙂

  2. Oh fuck yeah! Excuse my french. You are the smartest most amazing woman…I’m so glad to call u friend..my only problem with you? Ur ass lives to hell and back in Jersey. Keep on keepin on ..to hell with ur jealous haters. They can kiss my ass.

  3. It’s amazing isn’t it? While I don’t know to whom you are referring, but I can assume that she is either in an unhappy marriage or too uppity on herself to be able to land a good guy and is trying to bring someone down with her. Either way, it is better to leave her behind. I learned through my divorce who my true friends are and really, that is all that matters. My friends and family got me through and yes, I too am a strong, independent woman. I did not/do not need a man to know that…my husband rminds just how independent I am on a regular basis…although he calls it “stubborn” silly man!

    Bottom line, hang in there. There will be good days and there will be bad days and sooner rather than later the good ones will far outweigh the bad. Love ya! 🙂

  4. That is pretty awesome and so are you! I know you’re going through some though times…. hang in there; better days are coming. It never seems like those better days will come soon enough but they will come. I’ve been there, too; I’m almost a year into Divorce #2. UGH. Like you so aptly said, not where I planned on being, but given the circumstances, I’m okay with it and I plan on making the best of the rest of my life. 🙂

    All the best to you! We’re here for you!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

