When it rains, it pours….

So, two weeks ago today, I started my new job.  I love it.  It’s awesome, sometimes slow, but the people are terrific.  I had forgotten how much I loved having adult interaction all day long.  I haven’t had that in awhile with being in school and a stay-at-home mom.

The downside?  I haven’t yet worked a full 40 hour week.

In the last two weeks, my oldest son has had pneumonia and needed to be taken to the doctor.  He then got an ear infection and had to be taken to the doctor.

Oh, I had to go talk to my lawyer, which took away time.  And then, today, I had to leave an hour early to go out to see my lawyer again.

While my job will allow me to flex time if I need to, I need to make up the time lost in the same week that I lose it.

Unfortunately, this isn’t always possible.  Because you can’t plan for emergencies.

So, I left work early today and was thinking, “This should be it for awhile.  The oldest is feeling better, the youngest isn’t sick.  I won’t need to go back out to the lawyer for a bit.  Should be a good, solid 40 hour work week next week.”

I spoke too soon.

When I went to pick up the kids today, my youngest says, “Mom, I jammed my finger playing basketball.  Look!”

Sure enough, his finger was all swollen up and the middle knuckle of his right ring finger was getting larger.

Now, I know you can’t really do anything for a jammed finger.  I told him we’d watch it tonight and if it was still bad tomorrow, I’d take him to the after-hours clinic and have the doctor look at it.

An hour and a half later, I noticed the entire finger was swollen and there was bruising up the sides of the fingers.

We went to the after-hours clinic tonight.  They sent us for x-rays.  This is what they showed:

Yes, that is a broken finger, folks.

What does that mean?  It means ortho appointments for him to get the finger set and possibly casted.  Then an appointment to have said cast removed.

Totally awesome.

My kids are some of the healthiest kids on the planet.  They rarely have to go to the doctor for any reason.  In fact, I don’t think they went to the doctor last year for any reason except their yearly physicals.

But when they decide they’re gonna do something up right, they do it with all their heart.

And lungs. And fingers.

When it rains, it pours.

Here’s to hoping my employer will lend me an umbrella 🙂

2 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours….

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

