Divorce Sucks…well, not mine :)

Never doubt that I am thrilled to be getting a divorce.  I’m so happy without the asshole in my life that it’s amazing to me some days.  There is a part of me that thinks that I should be mourning the death of my marriage, but I’m just thrilled that that part of my life is over.

I’m not looking for love, I’m not looking for a relationship, I don’t believe that I’ll ever find that kind of love that the storytellers tell us about.

Honestly, I’m totally alright with that.

I don’t need a man to save me, I don’t want a man to save me.  I certainly don’t need someone to complete me.  I’m pretty darn complete by myself.  I have friends that I can share with and have experiences with.  I don’t need a man to make my life more interesting or more memorable.

I don’t even need a man in my bed.  But I sure like one there! 🙂

While all of this may be true for my life, it still hurts me to hear that a friend of mine is going through a divorce.  I may not need these things, but I wish them for my friends.  Because I want them to be happy.

I just found out, yesterday, that a friend of mine is going through a divorce.  It happened at the beginning of the year and they have children and it’s very stressful on him.  And I feel badly for him, although I know he’ll be happier when it’s over. 

Because, even though I don’t think I’ll ever find that fairy tale love, I believe in it.  I just don’t believe it’s for me.  I want my friends to find it, or hold onto it, whatever the case may be. 

I think my biggest issue with my friends’ divorce(s) is that I remember what it felt like when he told me he wanted a divorce.  It was like a punch to the gut, followed by extreme panic when I tried to figure out what I was going to do.

Everything fell into place, but that first couple of months (where my friend is now) were so hard and stressful.

I guess, bottom line, I just want my friends to be happy.  I feel badly for them when they go through something wrenching like this and wish I could help.  But, I find that I’m not really a help.

Cause I’m so damn happy in my life.  Cause I’m so damn happy about my divorce.

Cause I’m just so damn happy.

I want, for all of my friends, for them to be happy in their lives.  Sometimes that takes a wrenching change, like divorce, and sometimes it comes with true love. 

I guess I just feel badly for him because I know how hard it is those first few months.  He’ll catch up to my happiness, eventually.

Until then, I guess I’ll just be there for him and help him as much as I can.

Because that’s all you can do, right?  Be a shoulder, be an ear, be a friend.

I’m alright with that.

2 thoughts on “Divorce Sucks…well, not mine :)

  1. One of my friends divorced last year. Since then, she has a great new relationship, a new home, did a charity skydive and learned to ride a motorcycle. With no children involved, it was easier (well, financially anyway) to move on but she’s so much happier (and healthier) since her ex unexpectedly announced that he wanted to split. Sometimes, life is just waiting for you to come and grab it!

    Keep being a good ear – you’ll know how helpful that is yourself. Best of luck to your friend.

    • Life IS just waiting for you to come and grab it. He’ll realize that soon enough. It’s just hard to see him go through this first part. I hope I’m a good ear for him. I sure am trying! 🙂

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

