And the peace and quiet has fled for its life

I think we can agree that I love my children.  I have sacrificed much for them in the past and I will continue to do so in the future.  That is what parents do.  They put aside their own wants and needs to fulfill those of their children.

But, I won’t lie when I say that I was looking forward to a week without them and that I was somewhat dreading having them return.

The week was so quiet.  It was so peaceful.  No one was arguing with anyone, there were no fights, there was no pee on my toilet seat.

I needed the break.  I truly, truly did.

Now they’re back.  And I was so happy to see them.  And I realized how much I love them.

Three hours later and I have a bitch of a headache.

First, I took them into a store at the pickup/dropoff point so that I could go potty.  The youngest immediately started asking for things (candy, gum, toys).  When I told him, “no,” he whined a bit.  And complained.

In the car, they argued with each other.  And with me.  And got snippy and snarky. And they regaled me with stories of what they did with their father.  Which wouldn’t be so bad, but every single story included his bitch and her spawn because they were at his house waiting for them when they arrived and stayed for the whole week.

In other words, they didn’t spend a single alone moment with their father.  What a douche.

And when they asked me what I did while they were gone, they latched onto the fact that I had some wine and I got lectured by a 15 and 12 year old about why I shouldn’t drink.  Like I’m a lush or something.  They harped on it and harped on it until I had to tell them to be quiet, in a not so nice way.

I refuse to be lectured by my children about my life choices. One comment is fine….a whole lecture is not alright and not to be stood.

When we got home, I immediately lost my television to the XBox (which I hate with a passion) and then got even more frustrated when they asked me to set up their XBox live and that turned into an amazing mess.

Oh, and they want to argue about where we are going to go to dinner.

Three hours and the peace and quiet of the past week has been irrevocably shattered.  It is gone.  I’m wearing black to mourn its passing.

I had an enjoyable week.  I spent time with other adults with no guilt over where I should be or what I should be doing.  I didn’t have to rush home to make dinner or help with homework.  I could leave work and go get laid without an ounce of guilt.

Which I did.  For a good portion of the week.

It’s over 6 weeks until they will be going with their father again.  Six very long weeks.

Right now, it’s going to be an eternity.

 

 

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

