Sometimes they can still surprise me

Before I start, I wanted to welcome everyone that has recently come to my blog.  I have enjoyed exploring your blogs and I truly hope that you will continue to enjoy mine.

Last night was a late night for us.  I seasonally scorekeep for an intramural sports program on base and last night was the first day of softball season for me.  YEA!  Of course, that morning it rained (and thundered!!) and I didn’t have time between getting off work and having to go keep score to change clothes.  So I was out there, in the mud, in high heels, slacks and a nice top.  I got some weird looks, especially from the Ump. 

But it’s all good cause softball season has begun!

 Now because I was having so much fun working the game, this meant that I didn’t get over to pick my kids up till 830.  They were more than ready to go and I was more than ready to get the hell out of my thigh highs which were, honestly, starting to pinch just a little bit. Love me some thigh highs, but they aren’t necessarily 16 hour worthy.

We got home around 9, ate a very, very late dinner (my friend offered them dinner, but they didn’t like it), and I was relaxing for just a minute before I started wrangling the kids into the shower.  They were playing XBox in the living room, enjoying each other’s company (for once) and I was sitting on my bed, listening to my James Blunt CD and cruising some of the amazing blogs here on WP.  Just as I was in the middle of reading a blog that was not family friendly, my youngest walked into my room.

He says, “Mom, I need to tell you something and it’s serious.”

Me, setting aside my computer, “Alright.  What is it?”

Him: “Mom, me and my friends went to the shoppette (a 7-11 like store on base) today and we saw an open bag of Jolly Ranchers.  We thought that someone had paid for them and then forgot them so we ate them.  But now, as I think about it, I don’t think that anyone bought them.  I think we stole them and I feel really guilty!”

At this point, he was trying to hold back the tears.  My heart just melted as I watched my son try to be brave and do the right thing. 

I called him over and gave him a huge hug.  Then I tugged him down into my lap, and he let me.  I held him and told him that I was very proud of him for doing the right thing, that it was very brave.  That I wasn’t horribly mad at him, but that this was the only bye he got on this kind of thing.  I told him that if he ever did it again, I’d skin his hinney.  I told him that we would take care of this tomorrow by going to the store and paying for a bag of the candy and he would have to apologize.  He doesn’t want to do this, but I will make him.  I asked him if he wanted to make it right and he said, “Yes.”  I told him part of making it right was to go apologize and pay for the candy.  He’ll do it today, because he’s actually a stand up kid and wants to do the right thing.

I’m sure that there are many folks out there that think I wasn’t hard enough on him for stealing this candy.  And you may be right.  There are numerous reasons why I wasn’t harder on him.  For one, he was so upset by it, by realizing what he had done, that he didn’t need me coming down on him like a hammer.  He needed support and understanding.  My youngest has not been very good for the last few months, what with the divorce and everything, and he has been acting up pretty badly.  I was so happy to have him come to me and admit this.  Meant that he still trusted me.  Big thing, right?

Secondly, I dare anyone to look into the face of my youngest son when he is trying to hold back tears and not want to just hug him as hard as you can till the tears stop.  You will  lose that dare without question.

We’re going to go take care of this this afternoon.  I know from his reaction that he will never do it again.

No matter how badly he behaves, I’m pretty proud of my son today. 

I guess I’ve done alright. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Sometimes they can still surprise me

  1. Him coming to you is a big step for him in maturing. And it shows that you are doing the right thing. If you had caught him and he hid it, and you just hugged him and were passive, then yeah, I’d be upset at your “lack” of teaching. But hey, I think it’s all good.

    And we had to do the same with the older two when they were younger. Only, they TRIED to be sneaky. We found them out and they had to own up to it.

    Sometimes, I wonder if stealing is a “right of passage” for kids.

    • I think that it is a right of passage. I remember working at Michaels, and this lady came to the register and told me that her daughter had taken a piece of candy and that she wanted me to “scare her straight.” I tell you, I had the hardest time looking at that little girl and being stern with her. But I knew it was the right thing to do. It happens all the time. My oldest got caught, by me, when he was about 4. He hasn’t done it since. I’m hoping that my youngest remembers how badly he felt yesterday and he won’t do it again 🙂

  2. i’m not a mom but i think you handled that perfectly. think of it this way, he didn’t have to tell you a thing…and you never would have known. he was brave and honest – chose to tell you even though he knew he could get in trouble.
    sounds like a great kid!

  3. You are definitely doing it right! For a child to “feel badly” after doing something wrong AND come tell you about it….Right on!! Congrats! Feel proud!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

