The Mexican Food Adventure

Friday was shit.  I’ll just say it that way, cause it’s easier than getting into all of it.  Suffice it to say, it couldn’t end soon enough.

And in the immortal words of Forrest Gump, “And that’s all I have to say about that.”

Saturday was pretty awesome.  I know I’ve talked about her here before, but let me touch on the subject again.  My best friend, my sister…we’ve known each other since we were 6.  For those of y’all counting that’s something like thirty*cough,cough* years.  LOL  Seriously, we’ve known each other a long time.

As luck would have it, her husband got stationed here at the same base where I work.  They just got here in October, so I know that I have a good three-four years before they move on to another base.  I can’t tell you how excited I am that they are here!  It’s wonderful to know that, if I want, I can just hop in my car and drive 20 minutes to her house and see her.

Yesterday, she called and wanted to know if I wanted to fulfill her desire for some Mexican food by going with her to dinner.  Now, for those of y’all that know me, you know that my one food weekness is Tex-Mex.  I love it, I adore it, I eat it till I feel like I’m gonna explode!  It is my favorite kind of food, hands down.  So, of course, I was happy to go with her to dinner!

Now, being new here, she told me that there were two choices – one that I knew was about an hour away and the other, when she told me the town, was only about 45 minutes away.

What a difference an “H” makes!

Yes, she confused two cities where the names sound very similar but are very, very different in driving times.  We ended up going about 1.5 hours north to eat at this little hole in the wall restaurant that had amazing food.  The only draw back – no liquor license!

However, the food was awesome!  I ate 2.5 enchiladas, refried beans, rice, and the two of us mowed through two baskets of chips with amazing salsa and terrific, homemade guacamole.

My pants were a little tight when we were done.  It was really good food and the company was even better!  The kids went with us and we all ate, well except the youngest who was being a butt.  Since that’s par for the course most days, it didn’t even detract from the wonderful tastes in my mouth!

We drove home, stopped by her house and fed her doggies, came back to my place and then headed to Dairy Queen for some amazing ice cream.  I went to bed a full and happy person.

It’s amazing how one Saturday with your oldest friend on a quest for good Mexican food can totally wipe out the horrid day before.

Thank God for Sisters!

 

2 thoughts on “The Mexican Food Adventure

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

