I am

I am bipolar.  It does not define me, but I do not ignore it.

I am adopted.  The greatest gift my biological mother gave me was to give me to two of the most wonderful parents a girl could ever ask for.

I am the oldest.  I have two younger brothers….one adopted and one that wasn’t.  Guess which one everyone assumed was adopted… LOL

I am a college graduate.  I majored in history and minored in English and graduated last August.

I am a mother.  I have two beautiful children, boys.  Even when they’re being bad, they’re great….well, maybe not in that instant.

I am the proud mother of a special needs child.

I am a working woman.  I have a 9-5 job doing working for people that deserve my undying gratitude.

I am an avid reader.  I love to read and one of my fave books is “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

I am a gatherer of useless trivia.  For example, “The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy” was originally composed for the glass armonica.

I am an avid movie watcher.  One of my favorites is “Citizen Kane,” and I cannot wait to see “Ted,” by Seth McFarland.

I am 5’7″.

I am a horrible cook, but a pretty good baker.

I am a lover of Tex-Mex food.

I am a horrible housekeeper, cause I hate housework.

I am the woman that loves to work on cars.

I am a smoker, but hope to put “ex-smoker” here soon.

I am a lover of wine, but only in moderation.

I am the person you send your plants to if you want them to die.

I am a lover of animals.  All animals, even scaly ones.  However, this love does not include any kind of arachnid or roach.

I am a military brat.  I have lived in 8 states and 2 countries.

I am well travelled.  Thank you, Dad, for taking us on driving trips every summer.

I am generous, most of the time.  Or, I try to be.

I am a talker.  I’m working on my listening skills.

I am a toucher.  When we talk, I’ll touch you on your arm or hand numerous times.

I am polite.  Everyone I meet is “sir” or “ma’am.”  These will never steer you wrong.

I am a disciplinarian of my children, and yours if you refuse to do so.

I am the person that knows that family is not defined by blood and I have many family members around the world.

I am someone that loves thunderstorms.  Nature’s fury makes me smile.

I am a lover of fighter jets.

I am very empathetic to almost anyone’s situation….as long as it’s not caused by their own stupidity.

I am a romantic at heart.

I am a person that gives her heart fully when she decides to give it.

I am a football fan and can’t wait for the football season to start!

I am more comfortable hanging out with guys than girls.

I am a master at putting my foot in my mouth.  What can I say?  I like the taste!

I am an aggressive driver and scare men when they ride with me.

I am the person you see singing and dancing in the driver’s seat of her car.

I am someone who has finally come to love sex and be comfortable with that.

I am someone who talks to herself.

I am a military veteran.

I am a proud person who understands the value of humility.

I am the person that says “yes” when you ask for help, even when she should say “no.”

I am fascinated by organized religion, but don’t claim any affiliation with one.

I am an absolutely, positively lapsed Catholic.

I am a two-time divorcee.

I am the bearer of scars from past relationships, but still give love freely.

I am the person that will find a silver lining in any situation, no matter how thin that lining is.

I am a night owl.

I am someone who has looked hard at herself and learned some hard truths about who she is.

I am the person that has learned from past mistakes.

I am stronger than I thought I ever could be.

I am single and loving it!

I am almost 40, a number that seemed so old to me just a few years ago.

I am a child at heart.

I am all of these things and more.

I am who I am and I’m alright with that.

 

 

10 thoughts on “I am

  1. I love the honesty you have shown with these “I am” affirmations. This is an exercise we all should do, and do regularly. I feel like shit these days, and I think this is just the thing I should do return to some self-confidence.

    Thank you! you are awesome!
    Alyssa

  2. I am… stealing and linking you later today! lol

    And I’ll keep some that I am with you on, take those (like being an Army brat off), and add a few of my own.

    See what YOU started?!

  3. funny, i was feeling very negative the other day toward one person in particular, stupid really as that person really has no bearing on me or my life, but there it was.. so i started a similar list just for my own satisfaction, essentially listing those things that i am and he is not, but now i think i will start a real ‘I am’ list and maybe even post it for others too see… maybe, but if i do i will link back here for the ideas credit to be duly given 🙂

  4. I’m new to your blog! But I loved this post. It felt so real. 🙂

    I am someone who has finally come to love sex and be comfortable with that.
    I am who I am and I’m alright with that.

    2 lines that showed vulnerability and strength.

    Keep writing!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

