Oh, yeah, it’s Monday

You know, sometimes I forget what day of the week it is.  We all do it, from time to time.

But, today, there was no mistaking that it was Monday.

It all started last week when I took my oldest to the doctor for a meds check on Wednesday.  Now, normally, I wouldn’t have had to do this to get him a refill on his ADHD medications (he’s autistic with ADHD tendencies).  We just had a meds check 3 months ago and normally it’s only twice a year. But the clinic, yet again, changed their policies and I was expected to jump to it.  And, of course, I did.  What choice did I have?  My son needs the medication in order to focus in class and I needed to do whatever it took to get them for him.

So, last Wednesday I left work and picked up my son and took him to the doctor.  Now, the medication that he is on is not carried routinely in the pharmacy here (cause they suck!) and the doctor has to put in a non-formulary request.  This request has to be approved by the signature authority at the pharmacy.

How many folks have this signature authority, you might ask.

One.

Yup, you read that right.

One person has the power to say whether my son gets his meds or not.  And he’s never in to give approval.

So, the doc files the non-formulary request, it goes to the pharmacy and gets approved and then the prescription is filled.  When I left the doctor’s office on Wednesday, I stopped by the pharmacy to see if they had the medication in stock.  They did and assured me that the script would be filled by Thursday afternoon. 

I wasn’t able to make it back over there on Thursday and they were closed on Friday.  Now, he had three pills left. I was going to have him skip the one on Sunday and take it Monday morning and then swing by and pick up his pills at lunch on Monday. 

The one time I don’t want him to be a self-starter…..

My oldest decided to take some responsibility and take his last pill on Sunday morning before speaking to me.  Well, that makes me SOL on Monday morning.

But, no problem, right?  They said it would be filled on Thursday.  So, I’ll just bop on over to the clinic at 0730, when they open, pick up the meds and head out.  Sure, the kids will be a little late to school and I’ll be 10 minutes late to work, but that’s alright.  It’s a one time deal.  I’m sure it’ll be fine.

I get there and the pharmacy has no signature on the request.  They can’t give me his meds.  Cause the signature authority (remember? one guy!) was out on Wednesday and Thursday and they were closed on Friday and he won’t be in today.

Seriously?

So, over to Pediatrics I go to see if I can figure this out.  The Captain who works for my Doc was very helpful and was able to get me my prescription

One hour after I walked through the door, having to talk to the Captain and Patient Advocate, I finally got my son’s meds.  The kids were late for school and I was an hour late for work.

All because they have only one signature authority for non-formulary requests.

Awesome.

Yup, it’s Monday.

Or the clinic pharmacy is staffed by idiots.

I’m hedging my bets and saying it’s both.

Happy Monday, y’all!

5 thoughts on “Oh, yeah, it’s Monday

  1. Shaking my head….I’m still stuck on WHY is there only one person who can sign off on these medicines and WHY is he not there after having 4 days off? People depend on their medicines in order to function. And before anyone points this out…YES you can schedule appointments earlier before you are due to run out HOWEVER some meds do not allow for EARLY clearance, renewal ect. Therefor, you are at the mercy of whoever is playing GOD that day. Glad he finally got his medicine, sorry you had to jump through hoops to do so.

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

