What is it with guys?

So, if there are any guys that are following or reading or whatnot, your input would be appreciated on this.  Cause I’m confused.

How is it that by wearing a pencil skirt that falls to my knees and a sweater set (that shows no skin whatsoever) and 3 inch heels gets more compliments than I can shake a stick at?

Is it the librarian thing?  Do I remind guys of their kindergarten teacher that they had a crush on?

I’m stupefied by this.  I get way more compliments wearing this outfit than I do when I wear a summery skirt and cute top.

Why is that?

What is it that turns guys on?  Or are they so easy that just by breathing we women turn them on?

Dress in a way that I wouldn’t call sexy and I can feel their eyes boring into my ass when I walk by.  Dress in a way that I think is very girly and they couldn’t care less.

What is up with that?

I am very careful at work not to show too much cleavage or wear a super short skirt.  Couple of reasons for this:

a) it’s not professional.  I work in an office and I hold to the standard that I should look professional while doing my job.

b) my “clients” are mostly male soldiers that haven’t seen a woman in anything other than a military uniform for the 400 days or so.  Don’t want to overwhelm the poor guys.

Hence the knee skimming skirt and the sweater set that doesn’t show off anything.

But, it seems to be backfiring on me today.

Any ideas?

 

20 thoughts on “What is it with guys?

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head. There is something sexy about straight skirt and sweater set. = librarian look from back when ( dont know any that dress like that these days…jeans anyone?) which could possibly equal quiet girl…quiet girls well…I think the misnomer is “wildcat in the bedroom”. Go on with your raaaaaaaawr self! hahahahaha

  2. we shall start calling you Miss Librarian. Raaawr! Also, maybe you just look extra hot today…nice legs? 😉

  3. Haha! I’m sure some images of school teacher or librarian were at play, but in either of those examples, they’re intelligent women… so while it’s nice to look at, sometimes what is more sexy is revealing confidence, not cleavage. Perhaps it was your confidence of whatever was going on that permeated the air around you and drew attention. A good question would be, do you feel more confident in the pencil skirt (which are always a great classic), or in the summery cute top and skirt?

  4. it has a confined, repressive look. that suggests that there’s something that wants to get out, unleashed, and it poses a challenge to men to want to be the one who “unleashes” you.

      • when it comes to what goes on behind the eyes when people are doing certain things, i’m usually right. i’m very in touch with what drives people.

      • I guess you would have to be having had the job you did. You had to motivate and cajole and try to reach those that didn’t want to be reached. Hats off to you, sir. Those who have the fortitude and balls of steel, teach 🙂

      • You’re welcome. My dad was a teacher for 20 years (after retiring from the military) and my cousin is a special needs teacher. It takes a lot to be a teacher. And special folks to do it. These are things that I’ve learned in the last 15 years working closely with my son’s teachers (he’s high functioning autistic). But, I’m glad you’re writing now. Love your blog!

  5. There is no rhyme or reason to the what will prompt a wolf whistle, look of admiration or other exhibition of desire on the part of men. Rich might be closest to the heart of the issue, though. Personally, I love a summer dress on a winsome lass, but hey, you might look really awesome in either. Bear in mind that every man is seeing you in bed, minus whatever it is you’re wearing, no matter what you wear. Go figure. We’re serial pollinators.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Hehe – thanks for the truthful answer. Your last line reminded me of that scene in “The King and I” where the King is telling Anna about why a woman must only have one man but a man is like a bee, going from tree to tree to tree. Made me smile! 🙂

  6. The librarian thing is pretty hot these days. But I have a feeling your natural energy would show through even if you were wearing a burlap sack!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

