An update, a story and an address

First and foremost, I need to update you on something terrific.

A few days back, I asked all of you to spare some thoughts, prayers and love for a fellow blogger (here).  I am very happy to say that her parents are going home this week and that they are doing very well!  That is such a relief for her and for all of us that are totally emotionally involved.  Now that her parents are out of the woods, she is posting again and I highly suggest you go check out some of the stuff she has posted recently.  It’ll have you laughing till tears run down your face – in a good way!  You can click on theonlinedatingjournal to go and explore.  She really is an amazing woman!

Now, I promised you a story in the title of this post.  So, here goes:

My grandfather, Al Aton, is celebrating his 94th birthday this year.  I can’t tell you how much I love this man.

My grandfather and my grandmother (RIP)

My sister-in-law wrote this about him:

On June 27th of this year, a wondrous event shall occur; the greatest grandfather I know, Al Aton, will turn 94 years young.  Mr. Aton is no ordinary man. He is the kind of man every woman dreams of and every man should want to be. He embodies all that is good. He is kind and considerate. He gives love freely and without shame; none of that macho silliness for that guy.  He is a great man who loves life and has never been afraid to live it. I mean, how many people can say they owned a baseball team and traveled to Cuba to scout players? Or trained countless bombardiers during World War II, which seems safe enough, but 15,000 aviators lost their lives during stateside training.  That’s some living! As you can imagine, at 94, much of our dear Pawpaw’s old crew isn’t around any longer and his days are often lonely. So, borrowing from an idea a friend of mine shared, I thought it would be wonderful to make this birthday a little different; hopefully a little something special.  And this is where you come in, dear friends.  I am hoping you would be so kind as to take a minute and drop a card in the mail for this sweetest of men. Wish him well. Maybe say a little hello to let him know he is thought of. Mention us, be his friend, as you are ours.  Sharing is caring right? If you would be so kind as to participate in this endeavor with me, let me know, and I will message you my address and then hopefully forward on a bunch of cards tied in a pretty red bow for one the greatest men I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. 

Me and my PawPaw last year

I honestly couldn’t have summed it up better myself!  I would love to see some of y’all participate by dropping a card in the mail for my dear grandfather.  Would you be so sweet as to do that?

If you would like to send this wonderful man some love, you can send it to this address:

A.L. Aton

c/o Robin Reynolds

PO Box 13

Cookstown, NJ 08511

I look forward to getting a bunch of cards to send on to him in June.  I know he’ll appreciate every one of them!!

Thank you in advance!

7 thoughts on “An update, a story and an address

  1. Hi, I just read your update and tribute to your grandfather. Wonderful. First, I want to tell you after I first read the story about your blogging friend’s parents having that bad accident (involving their motorcycle i believe wasn’t it and a semi?) I started praying for them. For a miracle actually. I am a Christian who believes in miracles and have seen some wonderful ones in my sixty-five years. Second, I have taken note of your grandfather’s address and plan to send a card. Is that address you sent your’s or your grandfather’s? Either way I will send along the card with a very thankful message for his contribution to our country in World War II. It will be a very nice late Memorial Day message and tribute from all those participating I’m sure. Thank you for the update on the couple who received their miracle. I was wondering about how they were doing after I prayed for them.

    • The address is mine. We’re using the PO Box as a central gathering point and will be sending all of the cards along for him to peruse at his leisure. Thank you so much! And you’re so welcome for an update that I was thrilled to pass along! Thank you for the prayers!!!

    • Yeah, isn’t it great??? They were just talking about taking her mother off of child support late last week – and now she’s home! Miracles do happen! 🙂 As for the idea, can I expect a card from my northern neighbor??? *wink, wink*

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

