Waiting for a response and musicals

Good afternoon.  How is everyone?  I’m bored out of my skull.  Seriously.  I have had to turn to the WordPress world to entertain me.  I have read some amazing posts today and some that I should definitely not read at work, especially on a day when I had to attend 2 hour sexual harassment awareness training.

Yeah, not conducive to not committing sexual harassment at all.

Do y’all ever post something and then wait for a response?  I mean, I can’t be the only person that does this, right?  You write something, a poem/story/lyrics to a song, and you send it out into the ether.  But you take a moment and maybe, just maybe, send it to someone in particular.  I mean, you take a moment and email the link because you want to make sure that a certain person sees it and it doesn’t get lost in the other electronic traffic that they receive every day.  You figure, “Hey, an email from them makes me take notice.  So it should work the other way, right?”

You email the link and you wait, eagerly anticipating their response.

And wait.

And wait.

And wait.

And wait.

Yup, still waiting.

I truly hate waiting.  I am impatient and I start to fidget when I have to wait.  And then I’m assaulted with the doubts.

Maybe they read it and they don’t like it.

Maybe they didn’t bother to read it cause I’m not really that important to them.

Maybe they just don’t give a shit and they deleted it from their cache.

Yeah, I don’t do waiting well.

So, I’m going to move on and think about other things.

Like the movie ticket I just bought.

Yes, I just bought a movie ticket to see the 60th Anniversary, digitalized, on-the-big-screen-for-one-day-only, release of “Singing in the Rain” on July 12th.

I am EXCITED about seeing this on the big screen.  Seriously, hands down, one of my favorite movie musicals of all time.  The only one I like better is “The King and I.” 

Yes, I am just that big of a nerd.

I mean, who doesn’t want to see this on the big screen:

Or this:

I mean, this movie is terrific!  I’ve seen it numerous times and I have loved it each and every time.

Now, I get to see it on the big screen.  The ticket is residing in a place of honor on my refrigerator, half covering up the “Perfect Homework” certificate my son brought home.

Yes, it rightfully deserves a place of honor.

The movie is, obviously, the cat’s meow!

16 thoughts on “Waiting for a response and musicals

      • Where will it be playing I love this movie too! I would love to see it on the big screen, there are so many old movies I think would be great to experience on the big screen and find myself saying just that when I am watching them on my little tv

      • If you google “Singin’ in the Rain” it’ll come up. They have a link on the TMC page (I think it was) that allows you to see where it’s playing. It’s only in select theaters and only on 12 July.

    • I’ve never seen JC Superstar, but I would have to say that “The King and I” is the best musical ever, with “Singing in the Rain” taking a very, very close second. Both of those I will definitely sit down and watch whenever!

      • It’s a deal! The King and I is a period piece, too. So, if you’re not wild about those, then that may be an issue. But once you’ve seen the “Shall we Dance” number, you’ll be hooked!

      • I’m not against period pieces– JCS is one too. But if you consider it a close second to Singin’ in the Rain, then it’s worth checking out. I’m familiar with the story, I have just never sat down to watch the musical. Make sure you watch the Norman Jewison version of JCS, with Ted Nealey. You won’t be disappointed.

      • I actually rate The King and I as better than Singin’ in the Rain. But, that’s just my humble opinion. I’ll be hunting for that version of JCS this summer!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

