Friday Fictioneers 6/22/12 – The Damsel Fly


Well, this is a couple of days early, but I’m out of town on Friday so I thought I’d go ahead and post.  I promise to come back by next week and read everyone’s offerings 🙂

Yes, it’s Madison Wood’s Friday Fictioneers time again!!!  I really do look forward to this because it gives me a chance to flex muscles that I wouldn’t normally use in my every day blogging adventures.  Writing fiction is very new to me, but I’m finding that I enjoy it immensely.

If you want to join in, just leap!  Everyone here is nice and can offer wonderful creative criticism to help you become a better writer. 

You can find the link for this here at Madison’s new web page!

Please, offer critique on mine!  I look forward to reading it!

Here’s the prompt and the story:

There was no distress for this one, regardless of her name.  No Snow White or Cinderella love issues here.

She lived her life just fine, thank you.  She spent her days happily flitting to and fro as her body flashed iridescent colors in the summer sun.

The days turned cooler, the trees changed color and the insects became scarcer.  One day, she landed on a rock to take a momentary rest. 

While there, a thought flew into her tiny mind on transparent wings.

“What is this life all about?”

Then the thought took wing and left as quickly as it came.

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers 6/22/12 – The Damsel Fly

  1. Same here… Reading your blog made me recall I had to work on it too.

    I liked your story, even though it might be focused on the lil one but it really is the story of all of us, the thought comes and leaves just as quick as it comes… then….. what is it, this life, i wonder?

  2. I’d like to know the answer to that question too, but I’m not sure I ever will. I’m not sure anyone ever will. Nice tale!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

