Sky in the Pie

One of the wonderful bloggers that I follow, ironwoodwind, had posted a little poem that was part of a larger project called Reason2Rhyme run by Karen B. Nelson.  This works much like the Friday Fictioneers that I participate in and I thought I would give this a try, too.

This week we were to take a cliched phrase and turn it around for our own uses.  Here’s my take:

Sky in the Pie

She baked for him a pie

Light as her love

Fluffy as her bed

Her heart was baked in it, too

When he ate it he smiled

And she realized

The sky was the limit for their love.

12 thoughts on “Sky in the Pie

    • Thanks! You should head over there and check it out. It has the possibility to become as big as Friday Fictioneers, but I think that folks are a little scared of doing poetry. But you do such beautiful poetry….you should give this a try….

      • Ok…here’s what i came up with :). Let me know what you think…

        He was running on empty
        His platform seemed shaky
        But it didn’t matter
        His sort was often needed
        In a race with so many
        Whose smiles house
        Lies and much greed
        Left untold

  1. What a lovely poem you concocted out of thin air! (Wouldn’t it be ‘iron’ic if my example convinced all the FridayFictioneers to try poetry! Ha!)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    (and thanks for calling me wonderful:)

    • Well, you are wonderful 🙂 Thank you for the compliment. It’s always scary to try poetry, but I think more folks can do it if they just give it a shot. I’m glad you posted this….I’m hoping more will try!

  2. I love this! What an uplifting little gem! These sparkling visions are just what I had in mind by starting Reason2Rhyme. So many times, a spark of inspiration hits you, and it may not be a whole story – or even a flash piece (holla, Friday Fictioneers!), but it IS worthy of a few verses. Yours was a perfect take on the prompt. I’m starting to see cliches in a whole new way!
    Thanks for joining in, and hope to see you next week!

    • Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments! I will definitely be back next week! I’m glad that Doug posted this link in his blog. This was fun and I look forward to the next one!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

