Oh, it’s my anniversary

Today would be my 17th wedding anniversary.

Except it’s not.

I’d love to say that I sat here and typed this this morning.  But I didn’t.

I typed it 14 days ago.

Why would I do that, you ask?

Because I knew that I would be busy for the next 14 days living my life. Gloriously free of the extra baggage that was my “husband.”

No moss growing on this girl.

But, it seemed appropriate to take notice of the day.  Which is actually hilarious because we never remembered our anniversary.  Ever.

Except for last year.  We both remembered.

Last year at this time, I was blissfully unaware of what was coming down the pike.  This time last year, I was wondering how we were going to get a date night in when we had folks visiting from out of town and trips to Cape May planned.

He was planning on where to meet his ex-girlfriend for a little sexual liason.

Ten days later he asked for a divorce.

If you want to know how devastated and surprised I was, take a look back at the original posts on this blog.

But don’t expect to find that girl here anymore.

She’s so gone…..

10 thoughts on “Oh, it’s my anniversary

  1. I love how you end this post! Congratulations on a much more important kind of anniversary, as you mark your growth and your progress over this last year! (I wish I could find your early posts…I wish you had a Month by month archive on your home page…)

  2. I love how you have sons, but know the songs from Lemonade Mouth. My kids (boy and a girl, younger than yours) love that movie and soundtrack, and I’ve enjoyed it via them. But I don’t know many adults who are familiar with the soundtrack, unless they have kids (especially girls) who still watch Disney Channel.

      • I don’t care what anyone says…I actually like some of the Disney/Nick/tween movies. (Before I sound crazy or like I have no taste, of course I like plenty of grown-up movies too.) Glad I’m not the only one. 🙂

        P.S. I just discovered your blog the other day. After reading all of your enthusiastic recommendations of onlinedatingjournal’s blog, I went over to check it out. Bummed to see that the site isn’t there anymore. I don’t know all the backstory, but I’m sorry if people were causing problems for her. 😦

      • Welcome, then! I didn’t realize you had only been here a couple of days! 🙂 Yes, onlinedatingjournal had some issues with internet stalkers and so she shut down her blog. It really stinks. I wish she hadn’t gone anywhere 😦

        As for Disney and Nic, well, I got rid of my cable the other day so now I’m missing iCarly (which is hilarious) and Victorious. My kids really liked Pair of Kings (which was kinda funny, in a stupid young boy way) and I loved the made for Disney movies! Minutemen was pretty good, if you haven’t ever seen that.

        Like you, I do like adult movies as well. If you haven’t seen “Super 8” you should. It was really good. And I loved “Ted!” Definitely an adult movie but soooo funny!

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

