Friday Fictioneers July 20, 2012

I have been horrible about participating in this terrific exercise in wordsmithing the past few weeks.  I swear, the heat has totally sucked every single creative juice I have.  But, thank goodness, the heat broke yesterday….and so did my writer’s block!

I am talking about Friday Fictioneers run by Madison Woods from her wonderful, new website.  I have missed being here!  Y’all should hop on over and take a look at the other wonderful offerings by so many talented writers out there that participate.  Then, YOU should go give it a shot!

So, here’s the prompt and my offering for this week’s Friday Fictioneers:

Grapevines

We come from different bushes

One growing in sun and light

The other in night and shadows

Our lives so different

But we chose to come together

Intertwining our branches

Marrying our fates together

Becoming stronger in ourselves

As we bring strength to each other

Sometimes we tangle each other,

Stunt growth, break a branch

But, in reality, we are pruning that which we don’t need

Making our bushes stronger, robust

Able to withstand every storm that comes

No longer separate

But one, strong tree.

35 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers July 20, 2012

  1. An excellent analogy for a marriage (or relationship.) Glad the heat broke and your writer’s block, too. This is only my third week and I’m enjoying it immensely–both the quality of the writing and the writers themselves. Nice to meet you.

      • It’s fun to have so many diverse ideas to read, although it takes me a bit of time to work my way through all of them, which I’ve been trying to do. Real life and things I have to do can interfere so much!! 🙂 Looking forward to your visit and response to my piece.

  2. Very lovely 🙂 loved the image of the strong tree, and the pains to get there, stunted growth and broken branches. Thanks, it was a nice read.

  3. A great take, using the prompt as a metaphor for a relationship and really well executed. I wonder if you have a reason for starting each line with a capital letter. I think it might flow better if you didn’t, except where a new sentence begins and for me lower case fits better with centre justified prose/poetry. Just a thought, and I’d be interested to know your thinking behind this.
    I’m at http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/triple-exposure-friday-fictioneers-july-2012/

    • Well, now that you point it out, I’m not sure. I’m kinda feeling my way with this poetry thing (never did it until starting with Friday Fictioneers). I guess I didn’t realize that you didn’t have to capitalize the beginning of each line! LOL next time I do one, I’ll keep that in mind. 🙂

    • Thank you! I enjoy doing the poetry, even though I haven’t been doing it for long. It seems, sometimes, that the prompts just kinda move that way for me. You’ll see more poetry from me than anything, although I have been known to write a story or two 🙂

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

