Pride doesn’t begin to cover this moment

Yes, I’m still alive, contrary to the internet rumors.  I just haven’t had the urge to write.  Life has been hectic, what with school starting and stuff.  But today….today I  had to share.

15 years ago, I had a beautiful baby boy, who we named Jeffrey.

13 years ago, he was diagnosed as being on the autism spectrum.

For the past 13 years I  have fought, kicking and screaming, to make sure that he has the best chance at success that I, and his teachers and therapists, can give him.  This has meant going up against school districts, school principals and lazy-ass case managers who want me to do their job for them.

Please, let me make clear, I know that my son’s education is a team effort.  The therapists, teachers, case managers, principals, counselors, myself and my son make up this team.  We should all work together to make sure that Jeffrey is successful.

That hasn’t always been the case with those that I have had to work with.  But Jeffrey and I have made it through the fires and tribulations to today.

Today is the fourth day of school for my boys.  Today is the day that I got a phone call from the school. 

I got a good phone call from the school 🙂

My son, my autistic son who so many had told me would amount to nothing.  My son whose condition was to be blamed on my “bad blood.”  My son who I was told would never be more than a burden on me for the rest of my life.

My son today was offered an internship at the library on Tuesdays.  He is doing so well in his classes, and his teachers have such faith in him, that he will be allowed to miss a day of one class and half of two others once a week.

I’m so proud of my son.  If there was a word that could convey the happiness and the pride and the amazement at the young man he is growing into, I would use it.  If I could bottle this feeling, I so would. 

I am so happy that I was chosen to be his mother. 

 

6 thoughts on “Pride doesn’t begin to cover this moment

  1. As well you should be proud. You’ve done a great job and deserve a little joy from it. He’s obviously benefited from all of it ,and what you’ve given him, and he’s done his own share of work, too. That’s just great.

  2. I loved reading this! So uplifting and so wonderful.

    Yesterday I was talking to a friend with two autistic children, she fights the same battles you have clearly fought successfully. She has fought them successfully most of the time also. Her son, who is much younger than yours is just recently becoming verbal (seven years old), it is such progress and I was thrilled to hear his voice over the phone as we talked.

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

