Another year older

birthday candles

It’s my birthday! Woohoo!

No, wait. It’s Ash Wednesday and the first day of Lent. Maybe I should be a little quieter about this.

Oh, no…..I gave up being Catholic!

PARTY ON!!

party on

41.

41

Good Lord. Where did the time go?

The years seem to move by so much more quickly the older I get.

I look back at this year, the first year of my fourth decade on Earth, and it hasn’t been all bad. I mean, the winter could have given us a break after the first time we had frozen pipes, but other than that, it’s been pretty good.

And I started graduate school before my 41st birthday, so I’m really happy about that.

When you get right down to it, 41 is just a number. It’s just a linear progression of time that tells you how many years you have been alive.

That’s all. Nothing more.

So, what am I going to do in my 41st year on this Earth?

I’m going to learn more learn

flowers I’m going to enjoy beauty all around me

I’m going to remember to speak kind words speak kindly

I’m going to be myself. I’m going to love myself. I’m going to be the best me I can be.

But, most of all, I’m just going to be.

And I’m going to remember to live each day as it comes. To breathe deeply. To hold close those that I care about and to let go of those that are not anything but toxic for my life.

I’m going to forgive old transgressions that I made and those that were made against me.

I’m going to love, and laugh, and cry, and, most of all, LIVE.

And it’s going to be a good year. A very good year indeed.

2 thoughts on “Another year older

  1. Penblwydd Hapus i chwi. I hope you have a wonderful day. Since you have all the right ideas about age just being a linear progression and you’ve already started living life in a great way, I won’t wish you future happiness. You’ll have that and you must already be counted a success from the great fiends you have. Just enjoy life and continue being who you are.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  2. A belated Happy Birthday to you!! If I was more regular about my FB viewing and email checking I probably would have been more timely with this. You’re an amazing woman and I don’t doubt this 41st year will be spectacular! xoxo

Would love to hear your comments/questions/suggestions! Leave one below!

